

## **South Africa Quiz: Questions**

- 1. South Africa has three capitals a legislative, administrative and judicial. For one point each, name them.
- 2. What was the estimated population of South Africa in 2010 (to the nearest million?)
- 3. How many provinces does South Africa have?
- 4. The Mineral Revolution was based on the export of what two minerals from the 1860's onwards?
- 5. Who or what is the 'Karoo'?
- 6. Who became the President of the Republic of South Africa following the first universal elections in 1994?
- 7. On what day do South Africans celebrate the public holiday known as 'Freedom Day'?
- 8. Name South Africa's 6 neighbours (one point for each).
- 9. How many official languages does South Africa have?
- 10. What is the name of the South African national rugby union team?

This quiz has been produced by the New Zealand School of Export. For more information on target markets and other useful information, go to <a href="https://www.export.ac.nz">www.export.ac.nz</a> to check out our free export library and information service (ELIS).

This version: 19<sup>th</sup> March 2011



## **South Africa Quiz: Answers**

- 1. South Africa has three capitals a legislative, administrative and judicial. For one point each, name them. **Legislative is Cape Town, administrative is Pretoria and judicial is Bloemfontein.**
- 2. What was the estimated population of South Africa in 2010 (to the nearest million?) **49,991,300 accept 49 or 50**
- 3. How many provinces does South Africa have? 9
- 4. The Mineral Revolution was based on the export of what two minerals from the 1860's onwards? **Diamonds (found in Kimberley in 1867) and gold (found in Witswatersrand in 1886).**
- 5. Who or what is the 'Karoo'? The interior lands of South Africa.
- 6. Who became the President of the Republic of South Africa following the first universal elections in 1994? **Nelson Mandela**
- 7. On what day do South Africans celebrate the public holiday known as 'Freedom Day'? **27**<sup>th</sup> **April**
- 8. Name South Africa's 6 neighbours (one point for each). Namibia, Botswana, Zimbabwe, Mozambique and Swaziland. Lesotho is completely surrounded by South Africa so is also a neighbour.
- 9. How many official languages does South Africa have? 11 (Afrikaans, English, Ndebele, Northern Sotho, Sotho, Swazi, Tswana, Tsonga, Venda, Xhosa, Zulu).
- 10. What is the name of the South African national rugby union team? **Springboks**

This quiz has been produced by the New Zealand School of Export. For more information on target markets and other useful information, go to <a href="https://www.export.ac.nz">www.export.ac.nz</a> to check out our free export library and information service (ELIS).

This version: 19<sup>th</sup> March 2011